Writing partner retired! It’s a very sad day. I have finally had to admit that Freddy is no longer up to the job.

Writing partner retired!

It’s a very sad day. I have finally had to admit that Freddy is no longer up to the job. He can’t keep pace with the modern world. It’s a constant battle to keep him in good health as he’s not as good at resisting viruses as he once was. His operating system (XP) is old fashioned and has been abandoned by Microsoft. He’s getting so slow in his old age, he takes two hours to warm up in the morning and get going and that’s no good to a girl with a busy social network!

I’ve been working with Freddy for nearly eight years now and you could say that we have become intimate. He was my constant companion through out my post-graduate studies, keeping me company through the night , helping me to cram for exams. Together we have listened to music, stored and edited photos and visited many far off places. He has helped me write and edit my fiction and has always faithfully supported this blog. I am very fond of Freddy.

Me and Freddy in the good old days
Me and Freddy in the good old days

So, Freddy is now eight years old, (I wonder how old that is in computer years, he must be in at least late middle age!) and is due for retirement. I think he maybe started to see the writing on the wall, when that smart new iPad came on the scene, with all those sexy apps. Then a much younger cousin was adopted with a much smoother operating system and  became the word processor of choice. Poor Feddy keeps losing memory and his battery is dead. There’ll be one final back up and then the end! R.I.P.

Post Scriptum

What do you do with a defunct laptop? Can they be rehabilitated and perform a useful role in society? Is there a home for a retired writing partner, needs tender loving care, requires regular breaks due to indigestion and is bit slow on the up-load?

Any suggestions for recycling welcome?

NetworkWorld |Dec 14, 2010 1:23 PM
NetworkWorld |Dec 14, 2010

3 thoughts on “Writing partner retired! It’s a very sad day. I have finally had to admit that Freddy is no longer up to the job.

  1. I truly feel your pain, I recently traded in an eight year old Dell, I have not had the strength to purge its systems as it has been a constant companion across the US, with so many memories. It is incredible how an inanimate object can hold sentimental meaning.

    Like

      1. Well it is official, I’m now the proud owner of an iMac and Mac Book Pro.
        So now my new toys are synced and I’m in writers heaven.

        I see the old Dell sitting quietly in the corner just looking a little pitiful. I still can’t find the gumption to give her away. Oh well onward to more wiring.

        Like

Please let me know what you think

